It’s like ten thousand spoons when all you need is a knife

Isn’t it ironic …

The week I have no enforced assignments, I get so much more done.

Yesterday I was reading my friend Suzy’s blog … I was lured in by her email announcing that it was Friday afternoon and that she was knackered and had decided to make some changes. As it happened I couldn’t remember the last time I’d felt so tired myself, so I took a little break from work and read about her plans for an 8 day week.

What it made me think is that often Go Slow and Do Less help me Accomplish a lot More.

Is it a coincidence that on the very week I pull an Ace and use it to take a week off from money assignments, I nail the spend tracker (I am in LOVE with my new system), find the time to cross a long list of money chores off my to-do list and FINALLY get around to creating that killer spreadsheet which captures all of my assets, liabilities, income and outgoings in one easy to find location … like a sparkly dashboard?

No, it is not a coincidence!!

In cutting myself some slack and lightening my workload, I found the inspiration and energy and time to voluntarily attend to a whole bunch of things I’ve been avoiding.

For others way in which being a slacker can be good for you, check out Copyblogger’s 7 Bad Habits of Insanely Productive People. Me, I’m off for a walk in the rain.

4 thoughts on “It’s like ten thousand spoons when all you need is a knife

  1. Fab!! Enjoy!! Could you mention once more where you acquired your spend tracker?? My hubby and I have been really struggling with trying to figure out where the hell all our money goes every month!!!!!

    • Am in love w iSpend. Cost me £2.99 (though there are free apps I couldn’t manage to download which seem more friendly for iPhones). You do need to be religious in making a little entry ea time you spend but I find it SO much easier than manually writing as I go and iSpend categorizes stuff and you can run little reports.

  2. Amazing, isn’t it? This happens to me all the time (in a writing kind of way) but I never factor it in. It seems so wrong to take time off sometimes, but sometimes it’s just exactly what you need to do to get more done.

  3. When I was reading Suzy’s blog about hunting for energy drainers and looking for ways to get more done, I was tempted to reply that maybe we should factor in purposefully unproductive time — not relaxing per se which I always need to “schedule” but over the course of a day’s work or during a precious writing slot we might say to ourselves for some portion of this window – say 10 % i am going to let myself WASTE some time.

    It seems to me that either

    A. we will …but we need to, our brains are still working away making new connections even if we decide to surf for an hour or read a magazine or fold socks

    B. we won’t feel like it and will voluntarily use our optional time to crack on with all sorts of stuff that only moments before felt like too much hard work

    But it felt too Self Help Magazine so I stopped self … whereas obviously I haven’t been able to this morning.!!! :)

Leave a Reply

