Let the games commence

Goooooooooooooooooooooood Morning 2012!

TODAY marks the official launch of my year-long experiment to re-wire my relationship with money.

Here’s how it’s going to work: Every Sunday for the rest of the year I’m going to pick a card from The Deck of Small Change to find out what my weekly assignment will be. Every Saturday I’ll report back.

For more about how the cards work, what the ground rules are and some of my goals, check out the Q&A section at the bottom of the page.

And so without further ado, today’s card is …the Five of Hearts.

The hearts are all about enhancing my financial intelligence (FQ) through research assignments. And the specific instruction for the 5 in this suit is to find, read and choose 3 blogs that might up my FQ — these I’ll subscribe to for the rest of the year.

A nice, easy one for my 1st assignment of the year.
So off I go … ’till next Saturday,
Over & Out

4 thoughts on “Let the games commence

  1. That’s a great card to start with – and this is such a good idea! I’d play along if I didn’t find the whole idea utterly terrifying. Instead, I shall watch from afar and take inspiration from your findings.

    1. Yay! Yes, if it were me I’d go the spectator route too! Hopefully I’ll be finding short-cuts for followers along the way

  2. good luck Nat…I will be watching and learning from your epxerience. My money goal is simple, (and probably a bit not well thought out…) to have more money in savings than I did at the end of last year. I dont feel prepared just yet…I am getting ready to get ready for the changes that I need to make…

    1. Love “getting ready to get ready” — I can relate!

      Some of my ground rules are already proving a bit radical (where are we? Day 3 into 2012?!) …which only makes me believe even more that I need goals that are blindingly simple / hard to forget … Behaviours so easy to remember they could be a mantra eg my 4th ground rule “no impulse spend, no impulse spend”. Which I did have to repeat to self as I navigated duty free shopping at Heathrow today and as I walk the back streets of Madrid now that I’ve landed in Spain. Good luck with your savings goal! And if you feel like it, let me know what you scheme up to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

