New handy thing I just found

A quick mid-week note from those of us suffering with financial realities over here at Counting Zeros (i.e. me and some of my more diligent followers), I mentioned in my Jan. 15 post about confronting my credits that I’m bad at remembering where I’ve noted down various passwords and pins which we increasingly seem to need for all sorts of everyday functioning. And that password loss is a favourite procrastination tactic of mine. Lisa made a simple suggestion that I note them down in my blackberry — but I’ve just gone one better and happened upon all the apps out there designed to manage ‘password wallets’. Neat! I’ve downloaded Ascendo Datavault for a free trial ($25 for purchase). Using it will test my difficulty with being systematic and at least for the start-up phase (when I need to enter all my credit card and frequent flyer and email and other log-in’s for the first time), it’ll try my patience for administrative follow-through. But, who knows, it could be a break-through for me and my poor financial management habits.

In related news, I went to an interesting talk last night given by my friend Suzy — it was about creativity and in it she mentioned a piece of research by Dr Robert Epstein on the practices that increase our creativity muscles. One of them is to take on very difficult problems to solve (like how to end tensions in the Middle East, say) …. Turns out that applying our minds to big thorny issues helps us to look at our own everyday problems as easily solvable (like what to do with all my passwords) and solving these sorts of personal troubles helps us feel more in control of our lives and therefore much happier. Wow. Maybe Counting Zeros won’t be so painful after all.

PS. SEVERAL WEEKS LATER I CAN REPORT THAT I DIDN’T ACTUALLY NEED ASCENDO, MY BLACKBERRY CAME WITH A FREE PASSWORD VAULT WHICH WORKS JUST AS WELL!

Leave a Reply

