Fishing is boring, unless you catch a fish and then it is

Disgusting! (Dave Barry)

The double card pick up … so I’m sitting here with the 2 of Diamonds and the 7 of Hearts; one represents a task I don’t mind making time for, I might even learn something really useful, the other involves research I definitely do mind doing … I’m certain it can only lead to worrisome thoughts.

The 7 of hearts involves getting a handle of the benefits I receive from my employer. I’ve only worked for BIF* for fifteen years so you’d think I know. I do sort of … ish … I have medical and dental benefits, I think I ticked some box all those years ago for some sort of disability insurance (not sure) and I get a pension (which as we know I barely comprehend). So my task is to call HR tomorrow and ask them to pretend I only joined the company yesterday and to sit down with me and explain my benefits all over again (if they ever did in the first place, I really don’t remember.) While not something I would normally make time for, I reckon I can only find out useful things to know.

*Big International Firm

The 2 of diamonds on the other hand, could lead to trouble — the task is to investigate insurance. I’m fairly confident I don’t have any sort of insurance (except possibly travel insurance through one of my credit cards maybe? or possibly through work as one of my benefits?) and building’s insurance … I do have that arranged for my property because I had no choice, it was already arranged through the freeholder. But life insurance? Definitely not. Contents insurance (for the stuff in my flat), nope. Unemployment insurance? Mortgage insurance (is there such a thing?) … No and No.

Is it mad that I mostly don’t have insurance in my life? Should I care? Should I do something about it? What do these sorts of things cost? Without debts or dependents I don’t think I need life insurance (right?), but perhaps the other kinds might come in handy. This is my other task for the week ahead … to find out what sorts of insurance products there are and to have a chat with myself about whether I should consider getting any.

I feel bored about this already, so I thought I’d Google a few words of wisdom about boredom …

It is necessary to work, if not from inclination, at least from despair. Everything considered, work is less boring than amusing oneself. Charles Baudelaire 

The beginning of Canadian cultural nationalism was not ‘Am I really that oppressed?’ but ‘Am I really that boring?’

Margaret Atwood 

(She said it, not me!!! Still … I thought it was quite funny.)

One thought on “Fishing is boring, unless you catch a fish and then it is

  1. Insurance is THE most confusing thing I’ve ever tried to understand- as you know, in the states your employer usually provides health insurance. It’s amazing to me still that this country does not provide health care to tax paying citizens….thank GOD my husband deals with all the insurance stuff- I just don’t get it. We just had to get “flood insurance” on our new home. Will it ever flood? Probably not- but we’re required to have flood insurance….it’s such a racket….

Leave a Reply

