Once again I turn out to be the sort of person I was hoping to avoid

I’ve been brushing up on various personality tests — particularly The Myers Briggs Type Indicator, as part of the prep for the bartering arrangements that came my way a week ago. And in doing so I’ve re-read some of the more annoying features of my own personality type (INFP). In particular I had to underline this

Biggest weakness: a hard time remembering facts or figures. INFPs do not like to deal with hard facts and logic. Their focus on their feelings and the Human Condition makes it difficult for them to deal with impersonal judgment. They don’t understand or believe in the validity of impersonal judgment, which makes them naturally rather ineffective at using it. When it comes to the mundane details of life maintenance, INFPs are typically completely unaware of such things. They might go for long periods without noticing a stain on the carpet, but carefully and meticulously brush a speck of dust off of their project booklet.

Well, I do really value my stationery. I’ve admitted this already. As for the issue with retaining numbers, well … here we are at Counting Zeros where I am trying very hard to remember a few.

But this week I did have quite a major struggle with cold impersonal logic. I met with the financial advisor on Monday and his parting words of advice to me were Not to Sell My Flat. Didn’t I understand how much money it was making me? Yes, but I also understand that I don’t want to live there and that I need to sell it in order to buy somewhere new.

So I fretted. Because really I had to decide by this week and I thought I already had decided as per my announcement June 23rd. As I walked out of the financial advisor’s office a bit dejected I didn’t just take his word for it, I got a few 2nd opinions and I mulled it over on my own for a few days. But as of last night I have done an about-face. I’m not going to sell. Not for now.

Not so much because of the way the numbers add up, but because selling a property and buying another is a major life task which steals violent amounts of time and before I’d even get to that size project this year, first I have to:

  • Find some new housemates for where I live now, rather pressingly
  • Get knee surgery, which will make it hard to go flat hunting for at least a month if not longer
  • Get a wisdom tooth removed which is neither here nor there, but is just another piece of life maintenance getting in my way
  • Go on vacation in August — effectively wiping out a month of opportunity for practical chores
  • Work out where to buy my next place (the choices are FAR from obvious) which will involve road trips … which means I need to get my driver’s licence since I originally learnt to drive in downtown Hammersmith and have therefore not felt confident enough about other drivers on the road ever since … So I need to start all over again.

Meanwhile I also need to hold down the day job and battle on with Counting Zeros.

Given all that, it seems unwise to sell my flat right now when I won’t be in a position to find the new place I want to buy anytime in the immediate future. Yes, it would be nice to know the money is sitting in the bank for the moment I do see the home I want to buy — but it’s better off not sitting in the bank; it’s better off increasing the value of my current property from which I also get to collect rental income.

I can’t tell you how much I hate it when the facts get in the way of an otherwise brilliant decision. But there we have it.

In other news I am going to shift the Counting Zeros schedule by a day. It seems Monday is the most popular day of the week for Zeros visitors which is weird since I don’t even post on Mondays. But out of loyalty to my readers I shall make Monday the day I announce the card for the week and will start reporting back on Sundays, not Saturdays.

As for this week’s Sunday, I’ve got a few more things to say about the week that’s been and life’s various price tags. And so, until tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Once again I turn out to be the sort of person I was hoping to avoid

  1. Thank you! Though I had it in my head that it would be much better for the blog and book were I simply to sell up, fill a suitcase with cash and drive off into the sunset!!

Leave a Reply

